One Writer’s Musings More Spills

In response to inquiries, I thought I would elaborate a bit more on my nickname.

I was called Spill not for reasons that may immediately pop to mind (although, truth be told maybe sometimes …). But my ability to spill was (is) uncanny! I would literally walk into a room and spill something. My accident-proneness has improved over time. I still spill, and it’s worsened a bit recently, perhaps something to do with MY BROKEN HAND AND DAMAGED SHOULDER!)

A-hem. Anyways. One example that came to mind to demonstrate the appropriateness of my nickname happened at work one day…

At Zondervan, the kids team has Friday snack time, where we visit and unwind and take turns bringing goodies. On this day, I met my coworkers in our usual gathering spot. I walk up to the snack table and promptly knock over a coworker’s plate. I bend over to pick it up, apologizing profusely, and as I rise, I knock the snack table and topple another item–which turned out to be a birthday gift another coworker had JUST RECEIVED right before I got into the room. And it broke.

She was very gracious. “I can superglue it later,” she said, and carried it to her office for safekeeping. Like I said. Spill. 

Me and my team on Halloween

The Zonderkidz team one Halloween! In case you don’t know, I’m Roseanne Roseannadanna.

Gilda Radner as Roseanne Roseannadanna. But my hair's real!

Gilda Radner as Roseanne Roseannadanna. But my hair’s real!

One thought on “One Writer’s Musings More Spills

Leave a Reply

